Edit, Delete, or Complete a Task

As your project progresses, you may make significant changes to your tasks. In this article, you'll learn how to edit, delete, add progress and complete a task. 


How to Edit a Task

To rename a task, simply click on the task name to edit it. TeamGantt automatically saves the change once you hit Enter

If you need to make more significant changes to a task, hover your cursor over the task and click on the  edit (pencil) icon to open up the task edit window. From there, you can: 

  • Edit the task name
  • Add/delete comments
  • Assign Start and End dates
  • Attach documents
  • Change task color
  • Post sticky notes
  • Edit task dependencies
  • Assign/reassign members or resources
  • Indicate estimated hours
  • Indicate the number of days or weeks it'll take to complete the task
  • Add a value to its % completeness

Click the pen icon to edit the task

Tip: You can undo any changes you've made to a task by scrolling down to the task's activity log and clicking on the "undo change" link.   


How to Delete a Task

At some point in the project, you will want to delete tasks that aren't relevant or necessary. Simply hover your cursor over a task and click on the (x) button to delete it. 

A pop-up window will appear to confirm that you want to delete a task. Click Yes to proceed. 

If you need to reverse this, head on over to the  History tab and click undo change to return the task to the group. 


How to Add Progress and/or Complete a Task

Progress on a task means bringing a project from 0 to 100 percent completion. A task is marked as complete when it is given a value of 100 percent. 

There are three ways to add progress and/or complete a task. 

1 . From Gantt view: Go to the View menu and enable the Percent Complete column. Then, enter a value from 1 to 100 directly in the Percent Complete column to reflect the task's progress. 

2.  From List view: Click on the % Complete field and enter a value from 1 to 100. 

3. From the task edit window: Hover your cursor over the task and click on the edit (pencil) icon. Once the pop-up screen displays, add a value from 1 to 100 in the % Complete field. 

Note: The % Complete value of a task only affects the overall % completeness of the project if the task is scheduled/has dates assigned. 

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us