Invite People (Users) & Assign Tasks

Communication is critical to any successful project. Lucky for you, TeamGantt makes it easy to keep everyone in the loop as your project progresses! 

To start collaborating with others, simply invite them to your project. Each person invited to your project will count as a user in your account, regardless of their account- and project-level permission. 

Watch this video to learn more about inviting people to your projects.

Invite users to your project

As the project Admin, you have 3 ways to invite new users to your projects:

  • Method 1: Open the project you want to invite people to, and click Menu > Manage People and Resources.

  • Method 2: Click the People tab at the top of your project.

  • Method 3: Click the Invite People button at the upper right corner of your project:

Whichever method you choose, you’ll end up on your project’s People page. From here, click the blue Invite Users link, located just below the list of people who are already part of your project. 

If the user already exists in your account:

Simply select the checkbox next to the person you want to add to your project, then click the blue Add to Project button that appears. This person will automatically receive an invitation to log into TeamGantt and access the project.

If the user does not exist in your account yet:

1. Click the Add New Person link.

2. Next, enter the person’s name and email address, and select their  company-level permission. (Note: Basic users are automatically added with View Only project permission, while Advanced users are added with Edit Chart project permission. See below for instructions on how to change project-level permissions.)

3. Click the  Add User to Company button.

4. Click Add to Project, and this person will automatically receive an invitation to get set up in TeamGantt and access the project.


Set project-level permissions

TeamGantt enables you to control what users can access and edit at both the account and project level. You can learn how these different permissions work on our  Account and Project Permissions page.

Here’s a quick overview of the 4 project-level permissions:

  • View Only - Users can upload files and comment on tasks, but cannot edit the chart.
  • Update Their Progress - Users can only update the % Complete for their assigned tasks.
  • Edit Chart - Users can edit any project info on the chart.
  • Admin - Users can modify the chart, invite and remove users, edit project settings, and delete the project.

You can set project-level permissions directly from your project’s People page. Simply click on a user’s current permission setting, and select the access level you’d like to give them.


Assign a single task to a user

Any user who has been added to your project can be assigned to tasks. Once you assign tasks to someone, you can easily identify who's responsible for each task. 

You can assign tasks to people or other resources in two ways.

  • Method 1: Click the person icon to the right of any taskbar to select a user or resource to assign the task to. (Hover your mouse over that row to see the icon appear.)

  • Method 2: From the People column, click assign to select a user or resource to assign the task to. 

Both methods will display a drop-down menu that features the names of the people and resources available to work on that task. Choose the person or resource you want to assign from the drop-down, or click  Add new person/resource. Then, click Done.

Tip: After assigning tasks to people, you can use the Everyone filter to see only the tasks that are assigned to a particular person. 


Assign multiple tasks to a user at once

When building out your project, you might need to assign multiple tasks to the same user or resource. Here are two simple ways to divvy out multiple assignments at once:

Option 1: 

  1. Click the taskbar of the first task you'd like to assign.
  2. Hold Command (Mac) or Ctrl (Windows), and click on another task.  
  3. Repeat step #2 until you've selected all the tasks/milestones you want to.  
  4. Click the person icon, which appears to the right of each task, and choose the appropriate users and/or resources.

Option 2:

  1. Click the taskbar of the first task you'd like to assign.
  2. Hold Shift, and click another task. This will select the two tasks you've already clicked and any tasks in between.  
  3. Click the person icon, which appears to the right of each task, and choose the appropriate users and/or resources.

For more information about setting project-level permissions, check out our  Permissions tutorial. 


To learn more about TeamGantt, join us for one of our webinars!

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us